Skip to Content
School of Diplomacy and International Relations Logo


Diplomacy faculty regularly contribute internationally recognized research and scholarship to the global community. They are also decorated pioneers in teaching. Innovative teaching at the School of Diplomacy has earned our faculty the University's Teacher of the Year award for two consecutive years, and it comes in a variety of forms: from creative writing assignments and in-class projects to academic experiences fully conducted in the field. Innovative teaching methods engage students actively in their own learning while simultaneously illustrating the practical applications of their knowledge.

Our full menu of faculty profiles can be viewed below.

Nabeela Alam
Nabeela N. Alam
Assistant Professor of International Economics and Development
View Profile
Margarita Balmaceda 222 pic
Margarita Balmaceda
Professor of Diplomacy and International Relations
View Profile
Martin Edwards
Martin Edwards
Associate Professor
View Profile
Benjamin Goldfrank
Benjamin Goldfrank
Associate Professor and Department Chair
View Profile
Huang Yanzhong, Ph.D.
Yanzhong Huang
Professor; Director, Center for Global Health Studies
View Profile
Joseph Huddleston 222 pic
R. Joseph Huddleston
Assistant Professor
View Profile
Zinaida Miller
Zinaida Miller
Assistant Professor, International Law and Human Rights
View Profile
Sara Bjerg Moller
Sara Bjerg Moller
Assistant Professor, International Security
View Profile
Phil Moreman
Philip Moremen
Associate Professor
View Profile
Ann Marie Murphy
Ann Marie Murphy
Associate Professor; Director, Center for Emerging Powers and Transnational Trends
View Profile
Brian K Muzas, Assistant Professor of Diplomacy and International Relations
Brian Muzás
Assistant Professor of Diplomacy and International Relations
View Profile
Courtney Smith
Courtney Smith
Senior Associate Dean and Associate Professor
View Profile
Professor Zheng Wang's headshot.
Zheng Wang
Professor; Director, Center for Peace and Conflict Studies (CPCS)
View Profile

Adjunct Faculty

Atal Ahmadzai, M.P.H., M.S., M.D.
Mahidol University, Rutgers University
Human Security

Zainab Alam, M.S.
New York University
International Security, Comparative Foreign Politics, Gender

James Amemasor, Ph.D.
Rutgers University
International economics, World history, Africa

Erin Conaton, M.A.
Former Under-Secretary of Defense for Personnel and Readiness
Tufts University
International Security

Tufan Ekici, Ph.D.
The Ohio State University
Econometrics, Microeconomics

Hossein Hafezian, Ph.D.
University of Tehran
Middle East

Amy Higer, Ph.D.
Brandeis University
International Relations Theory, Foreign Policy Analysis, Human Rights, Gender

Adam Knight, Ph.D.
Rutgers University
International Relations Theory, International Security, Democratization

Edislav Manetovic, Ph.D.
City University of New York
International Relations, Comparative Foreign Policy

Borislava Manojlovic, Ph.D.
George Mason University
Conflict Analysis and Resolution

Binneh Minteh, Ph.D.
Rutgers University
African Studies, International Security

Maria Victoria Perez-Rios, Ph.D.
City University of New York
International Law, Human Rights

Ambassador Maureen Quinn, M.S.
Former Ambassador and Career Foreign Service officer
Georgetown University
Middle East Politics

Robert Shaver, M.A.
American University
Comparative Politics, International Political Economy

Catherine Tinker, J.D., J.S.D.
New York University Law School
International Law, Environmental Law, Human Rights

David Wood, M.A.
University College London
Mediation, Conflict Management, Peacebuilding


Interested in Serving as a Professor of Practice?

The School of Diplomacy invites inquiries from veteran professionals interested in serving Seton Hall University students of international relations as professors of practice in one of three capacities: as a Sérgio Vieira de Mello Endowed Visiting Chair in the Practice of Post-Conflict Diplomacy, as a Tom and Ruth Sharkey Distinguished Visiting Scholar, or as an Abd el Kader Fellow.

Typically, Sharkey Scholar, de Mello Chair, and Abd el Kader Fellow positions are semester-long appointments. The specific schedule and activities are agreed upon with each candidate, and typically involve several residences at the School, or regular weekly to bi-weekly visits to engage in a variety of activities that support our students’ educational and career development. These may include, but are not limited to teaching a course, leading skill-based workshops or lectures, the enrichment of existing courses, individual advising and mentoring, and other activities that build upon the strengths of each Chair or Scholar’s professional expertise. Ideal candidates are practitioners in the field of international relations and development, with 15 or more years of distinguished experience in senior-level positions and schedule flexibility due to a career change, retirement or alternative circumstance. Background in relevant international relations work, such as conflict negotiation, peacebuilding, post-conflict governance, security, humanitarian or political work is required for Chair positions.

Compensation is agreed upon individually. The positions are not intended as a replacement to full-time employment, but rather as a complement to the practitioner’s other activities beyond their commitment to the School. Expressions of interest should be directed to Dean Andrea Bartoli, and Senior Associate Dean Courtney Smith at

Learn more about some of our current and previous professors of practice:

Tom and Ruth Sharkey Distinguished Visiting Scholars 

  • Ambassador Jack Chow, M.D., M.P.A., M.D.A., M.S.
    Former Assistant Director-General, World Health Organization
    Former Special Representative of the U.S. Secretary of State for Health and Science
  • Catharin Dalpino, M.A.
    Former Deputy Assistant Secretary of State
  • Hugh T. Dugan
    Former Senior Advisor to the U.S. Permanent Representatives to the UN
    Former U.S. Delegate to the UN, U.S. Department of State
  • Edward C. Luck, Ph.D.
    Former United Nations Assistant Secretary-General and Special Adviser to Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon

Emir Abd el Kader Fellow

Sergio Vieira de Mello Endowed Visiting Chairs

  • Ambassador Therese Adam
    Former Ambassador, Swiss Foreign Ministry
  • Tatsushi Arai, Ph.D.
  • Philipp H. Fluri, Ph.D.
    Deputy Director, The Geneva DCAF Centre for Security, Development and the Rule of Law
  • João Honwana, M.A.
    Former Representative of the United Nations Secretary-General and Head of the Peacebuilding Support Office for Guinea-Bissau
Former Director of the Africa Division, United Nations Department of Political Affairs
  • Youssef Mahmoud, Ph.D.
    Former Special Representative for the United Nations Mission in the Central African Republic and Chad
  • Robert H. Serry
    Former United Nations Special Coordinator for the Middle East Peace Process
    Former Deputy Assistant Secretary-General for Crisis Management and Operations, NATO
Former Dutch Ambassador to Ireland
Back to top