College of Arts and Sciences

Seton Hall Students Inducted into Theta Alpha Kappa  

Lewis Hall GardenOn May 12, 35 students at both the undergraduate and graduate levels were inducted into Theta Alpha Kappa, the National Honor Society for Religious Studies and Theology. This year's virtual induction ceremony was organized by Dr. Michael Maloney, Lecturer in Religion and the faculty advisor to Seton Hall's chapter of Theta Alpha Kappa.

The following students were recognized for their outstanding academic accomplishments:

  • Antonio J. Galindo Aleman
  • David Andrade
  • Woorod Atiyat
  • Kyrillos Awad
  • Bryan R. Bangs
  • Rosemary Cali
  • Anne Callaghan
  • Alyssa Carolan
  • Carina Castagna
  • Roberto Del Rios
  • Andrew Del Rosario
  • Brandon Ericsson
  • Johnny Figueroa
  • Brendan Finnegan
  • Nicholas Fiorino
  • Erik Gonzalez
  • Phoebe Hall
  • Jackson Lied
  • Gregory Lobo
  • Marc Mackin
  • Stephen McKenzie
  • John Mihalko
  • Thomas Moore
  • Emma Murphy
  • Nickolas B. Naticchione
  • Sr. Linh T. Nguyen
  • Mary Nowak
  • Russell Raffay
  • Abigail Richter
  • William Ruane
  • Nicole Snyder
  • Gregory Szpunar
  • Laure Veet
  • Ryan Weist
  • Paul Zeller

These new student inductees were joined by Dr. KC Choi, Chair of the Religion Department, Dr. Ines Murzaku, Professor of Religion and Director of the Catholic Studies Program, Sr. Maria Pascuzzi, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies at the Immaculate Conception Seminary School of Theology, and Dr. Diane Traflet, Associate Dean of Graduate Studies at the Seminary. The induction ceremony concluded with a reflection and blessing from the Seminary's Rector and Dean, Reverend Monsignor Joseph Reilly.

Founded in 1976, Theta Alpha Kappa's mission is to recognize academic excellence in the disciplines of religious and theological studies, and it is the only national honor society to do so. Members include undergraduate and graduate students, as well as faculty. There are over two hundred college chapters of Theta Alpha Kappa throughout the United States. To be eligible for membership, students must hold at least a 3.5 G.P.A. in their studies in religion and theology, with an overall G.P.A. at Seton Hall of at least 3.0.

Seton Hall's chapter of Theta Alpha Kappa, designated by the Greek letters Alpha Omicron, is hosted and supported by the Department of Religion. The Immaculate Conception Seminary School of Theology also supports the chapter and participates in the social and academic events sponsored by the chapter throughout the academic year.

Categories: Faith and Service