Skip to Content
Seton Hall University

Department of Social Work

The Department of Social Work houses both an undergraduate major – Bachelor of Arts in Social Work (B.S.W.) – and a graduate degree, a Master of Social Work (M.S.W.). The Department also contributes to several minors, certificates and dual-degree programs within the realm of social science. All programs are designed to provide students with the knowledge areas and skill sets to analyze, critically evaluate and understand global and domestic concerns and how to apply that knowledge to ameliorate and prevent social problems. The Department places strong emphasis on social change, human diversity, cross-cultural awareness, social justice and service.

The Social Work Program at Seton Hall University is dedicated to excellence in the education of professional social workers at the bachelor’s and master’s level and serves as an exemplar and model for the University’s mission pertaining to servant leadership. The program is committed to student-centeredness and active community engagement in the pursuit of social and economic justice. Therefore, the mission of the program is to serve the needs of society by preparing professionals who are competent in social work methodology and practice using an evidence-based framework that is grounded on the values and principles of the profession.

Academic Programs