Skip to Content
Seton Hall University
Many Are One 2019 Header

Many Are One Alumni Awards Gala

Saturday, June 8, 2019

Bethany Hall, Seton Hall University

The 33rd annual Many Are One gala celebrated a lifetime of leadership for outgoing Seton Hall Interim President Mary J. Meehan '72/M.A. '74/Ph.D. '01. During President Meehan's tenure, among other accomplishments, Seton Hall welcomed its largest freshman class in history, achieved one of the highest graduation rates among national universities for Black and Hispanic students in the country, rose to 25th in the nation for social mobility, increased the giving rate of graduating seniors from 12% to 60% and of undergraduate alumni from 8.3 to 10.2%.

Other honorees at Many Are One included alumni from each college and school of the University.

  • Jeanne Brasile, M.A. '04, College of Communication and the Arts in recognition of her passion for the arts and her dedication to supporting the next generation of arts professionals.
  • Martin Foncello, J.D. '05, School of Law for his distinguished career in law and experience in litigation, complex investigations and independent compliance examinations.
  • Clayton A. Graham '77, College of Arts and Sciences for his contributions to public service and continued commitment to serving his community.
  • Stephanie Hauge, M.B.A. '78/ M.A.T. '15, Stillman School of Business for her accomplishments as a leader in business, paving the path for future businesswomen.
  • Maryann Hobbie, M.A. '02, Immaculate Conception Seminary School of Theology for her embodiment of selfless servant leadership.
  • Sarah Husseini, M.A. '12, School of Diplomacy and International Relations for her passionate and tireless work in fostering global diplomatic relations and her contribution to the United Nations.
  • Timothy Purnell, Ed.D. '08, College of Education and Human Services for his passion and enthusiasm for education and his dedication to the community.
  • Veronica F. Rempusheski '75, College of Nursing in recognition of her notable career in nursing and education.
  • Nicholas Santos, M.S. '13, School of Health and Medical Sciences for his dedication to the field of athletic training and education.

About the Awards

Seton Hall University is like a mid-size city - with over 100,000 alumni, 10,000 students and 1,500 employees. However, over 160 years after its founding, it remains true to its mission; it is a welcoming community, rooted in faith, and is steadfast in the pursuit of academic excellence.

Tied together by a common bond, Many Are One is the only event at which all of Seton Hall comes together as one to celebrate Seton Hall. Through it, alumni, faculty, administrators, students and friends gather to share the special link that unites them all - their devotion to Seton Hall.

Each year, members of the University community are selected for special recognition. These honorees are chosen because of their dedication to improving Seton Hall and their communities.

  • The Most Distinguished Alumnus Award is the most prestigious alumni award given by the University. This award is presented to an individual who has been recognized as an outstanding leader in his or her professional field.
  • School and College Service Awards: Each year at Many Are One all of Seton Hall's schools and colleges select an alumnus/a to receive their respective service award. Service awards recognize the dedication each alumnus/a has to their profession and their service to their community and Seton Hall.

2019 Most Distinguished Alumna

Mary J. Meehan '72/M.A. '74/Ph.D. '01
Interim President, Seton Hall University

School and College Service Awards

Service Award recipients demonstrate tremendous servant leadership in their professions, communities and through their involvement with Seton Hall.

Farewell to Dr. Meehan

Thank You

Thank you to our 2019 sponsors.

Back to top