Skip to Content
Seton Hall University

Woman of the Year Award Nomination

This highly prestigious, university-wide award is presented annually at the Women's Conference and is sponsored by the Office of the Provost.

This award recognizes and honors outstanding woman leaders who have made significant contributions to the success of women at the University. In addition to being strong leaders focused on service to or research in support of the advancement of women, the recipients of this award reflect and promote the important contributions of women at Seton Hall and demonstrate loyalty to women's issues, growth and empowerment.

Current administrators, staff, and faculty members from all areas of the University are eligible for the Woman of the Year award. Nominees must have been employed full-time by the university for at least 10 years and be in good standing at the University.

Students, staff, faculty and administrators are all welcome to submit nominations. Note that this honor is considered a "lifetime award"-be sure to check out the list of prior recipients below before submitting a nomination so as not to nominate a former awardee for a second time.

Past Award Recipients

1997 Lynn Riker
1998 Dr. Judith Stark
1999 Dr. Tracy Gottlieb
2000 Dr. Sandra Lee
2001 Doris Sura
2002 Catherine Buckley, Dr. Joan Guetti, Dr. Gisella Webb
2003 Dr. Emma Quartaro
2004 Dr. Mary Meehan, Dr. Roseanne Mirabella
2005 Robin Cunningham, Mary Ellen Farrell, Judith LaFerrera
2006 Kathleen Boozang, Esq., Elizabeth Defeis, Esq., Paula Franzese Esq., Dr. Ruth Hutchison, Sister Anita Talar
2007 Dr. Patricia Kuchon
2008 Dr. Karen Boroff, Dr. Laura Wankel
2009 Ingrid Hill, Dr. Mary Balkun, Beth Bloom
2010 Dr. Maxine Lurie
2011 Dr. Chrysanthy M. Grieco
2012 Dr. Phyllis Hansell
2013 Dr. Marta Deyrup, Brenda Knight
2014 Deirdre Yates, MFA
2015 Dr. Jo-Renee Formicola
2016 Bernadette Wilkowski
2017 Dr. Grace May

Photo credit: Malala Yousafzai photo by Antonio Olmos; Toni Morrison photo by Timothy Greenfield-Sanders

Back to top