Skip to Content
Menu
Seton Hall University
Students walking on path to class between Mooney and Stafford Hall

What is Title IX?

Explanation of Title IX

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 is a federal law that protects individuals from discrimination based on sex in education programs or activities which receive Federal financial assistance. Title IX states that: "No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance." Title IX's sex discrimination prohibition protects against sexual harassment and sexual violence and extends to claims of discrimination based on gender identity or failure to conform to stereotypical notions of masculinity or femininity.

Title IX Coordinators and their Responsibilities

Lori Brown, J.D.
Chief Diversity, Equity and Complicance Officer 
Title IX Coordinator
400 South Orange Ave, Bayley Hall, Room 108
South Orange, NJ 07079
(973) 313-6132
lori.brown@shu.edu

Karen Van Norman
Associate Vice President & Dean of Students
Deputy Title IX Coordinator
400 South Orange Ave, Univeristy Center, Room 237
South Orange, NJ 07079
(973) 761-9076
karen.vannorman@shu.edu

Tatum Colitz
Senior Associate Athletics Director, SWA
Deputy Title IX Coordinator
400 South Orange Ave. Recreation Center
South Orange, NJ 07079
(973) 761-9494
tatum.colitz@shu.edu

Cara Foerst, J.D. 
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Deputy Title IX Coordinator
Seton Hall Univeristy School of Law 
1109 Raymond Blvd. Room, 305
Newark, NJ 07102
(973) 642-8707
cara.foerst@shu.edu

Kelly Freeman
Director of Student Life, IHS Campus 
Deputy Title IX Coordinator 
340 Kingsland Street, Room 1525
Nutley, NJ 07110
(973) 542-6978
kelly.freeman@shu.edu

Dr. Laurie Sullivan
Associate Dean of the Office of Student Affairs and Wellbeing 
Deputy Title IX Coordinator 
Hackensack Meridian School of Medicine at Seton Hall University 
340 Kingsland Street, Room 4237
Nutley, NJ 07110
laurie.sullivan@shu.edu

Delica M. Reduque, M.S. Ed., PHR.
Manager of Employee and Labor Relations
Deputy Title IX Coordinator for Immaculate Conception Seminary School of Theology 
366 South Orange Ave. Martin House 
South Orange, NJ 07079
(973) 761-9284
delica.reduque@shu.edu

Back to top