Skip to Content
School of Medicine Logo

Diversity and Equity Committee

The Diversity and Equity Committee (DEC) is responsible for:

  1. Developing and maintaining a diversity database to establish data integral to sustaining effective recruitment, retention, and professional development of under-represented students, faculty, and staff.
  2. Ensuring that policies and procedures regarding diversity, inclusion, and equity in the SOM are consistent with those of Seton Hall University.
  3. Fostering the development of personal attributes in employees and students of the SOM that are necessary to achieve its mission.
  4. Encouraging and supporting culturally-relevant scholarly activities that acknowledge and respect systems of healing that emerge from different traditions.
  5. Providing a culturally-competent, inclusive, and respectful environment.
  6. Developing and/or recommending policies and programs to continue to grow a culture of diversity, inclusion, and pluralism in the SOM, and in collaboration with the Office of Cultural Diversity at HMH.

The DEC is composed of 12 voting members, including the Dean of the SOM, the Associate Dean of Diversity & Equity, the Associate Dean of Faculty, the Assistant Dean of Admissions, the Human Dimension Course Director, three elected Faculty members (from any SOM Departments), three elected students (one from each of the first three years), and a representative from the HMH Office of Cultural Diversity (appointed by the Dean).

Current Diversity & Equity Committee:
Kevin Hewitt, MD (Faculty - Emergency Medicine)
Sarah Timmapuri, MD (Faculty - Cardiology)
Benjamin Schleich, MD (Faculty - Medical Sciences)
Wayne Boatwright, MD (Hackensack Meridian Health)
Bonita Stanton, MD (Dean of the SOM)
David Kountz, MD (Associate Dean of Diversity and Equity)*
Sally Schwab, PhD (Associate Dean of Faculty)
Gregg Simonian, MD (Assistant Dean of Admissions)
Carmela Rochetti, MD (Human Dimension Course Director)
Aamirah McCutchen (student representative)
Janae Moment (student representative)

*The Chair of the DEC is the Associate Dean of Diversity and Equity. All appointments are three-year renewable appointments, except for ex officio members. The DEC will meet quarterly.

There is one subcommittee of the DEC, the Community Advisory Board.

  1. The Community Advisory Board of the DEC

(a) The Community Advisory Board of the DEC is committed to fostering open communication between the SOM and its surrounding communities.

Board meetings will consist of the SOM staff leaders making presentations on topics including school infrastructure, funding issues, and health care public policy trends. A standing agenda item will be the status of the Human Dimension Course of the SOM, which will take place in the community. In addition, a presentation about a specific health topic affecting residents and the local community also is made by one of the SOM directors or researchers. Board members are given the opportunity to ask questions and raise concerns about how specific projects and conditions may affect communities served by the SOM. The goal is to create an ongoing dialogue that helps to prevent conflicts and ensures a smooth relationship between the SOM and its neighboring communities.

(b) Membership will consist of elected officials or their representatives, leaders of civic and religious organizations and community associations, neighborhood activists, and individuals representing the SOM.

(c) The community advisory board is chaired by a community member appointed by the Dean. It will meet quarterly.

Back to top