College of Communication and the Arts Logo

WSOU Inducted Into the Rock Radio Hall of Fame  

Picture of WSOU Hall of Fame

(Left to Right): WSOU Assistant Program Director Doug Woolever, WSOU alumnus and current Music Choice music programmer Gabby Canella, WSOU Music Director Dylan Gordeuk, alumnus and Senior Director/Rock Formats for ADA/Warner Music Group Tom Delaney, alumnae and host of the national Full Metal Jackie program Jackie Kajzer, alumnae and current WSOU Underwriting Sales and Manager Jennifer Kajzer, WSOU DJ Katie Wilson, WSOU Assistant Program Director Charlotte Slocum and alumnus and Vice President of Music Programming for Signature Networks Cary Susalis posse with the station’s Rock Radio Hall of Fame award after the Rock Radio Awards Ceremony in Las Vegas.

WSOU 89.5 FM, the legendary student-run radio station at Seton Hall University, received a surprise at the annual Kilpop Radio Convention and Rock Radio Awards in Las Vegas, Nevada. Adding to its list of accolades as one of the best radio stations in the nation, the station was inducted into the Rock Radio Hall of Fame during the Rock Radio Awards Ceremony on the evening of February 23, 2018. 

Established in 2014 by music industry veteran Steven Walker, the Rock Radio Hall of Fame "recognizes and celebrates radio stations and individuals that have made significant and unique contributions to all things Rock!" 
"This is wonderful and unexpected," said WSOU General Manager Mark Maben. "WSOU turns 70 years old this year, and for nearly half of its existence WSOU has been dedicated to playing and supporting metal and hard rock. That our station has been inducted into the Rock Radio Hall of Fame is a tribute to the generations of students who have worked at WSOU. Noncommercial stations like WSOU often go unnoticed. To be recognize by our peers in the music and broadcasting industries means a lot."

Since 2014, the Rock Radio Hall of Fame has inducted more than 40 radio stations and individuals. WSOU’s name is now alongside renowned rock stations such as KSHE-FM, WMMR-FM, KSAN-FM, and WJJO-FM, the bands Metallica and The Who, and industry leaders Roxy Myzal, Harvey Leeds, Tom Zutaut, and Cyndee Maxwell, among others. More information about the Rock Radio Hall of Fame can be found at this site here.

This most recent honor comes on the heels of a number of other accolades. In 2016 WSOU was the winner of the National Broadcasters Association's Marconi Award for Noncommercial Station of the Year. The station has also received a Peabody Award; has been named "College Station of the Year (multiple times) by CMJ; "Metal Station of the Year" (three consecutive times) by Friday Morning Quarterback; is the recipient of more than 30 gold and platinum records, ranging from Iron Maiden to Linkin Park; and was named a "Top 5 radio station" in the country by Rolling Stone magazine

"WSOU is a jewel of the University and one of the cornerstones of our College," said Deirdre Yates, Dean of the College of Communication and the Arts. "Our student-run radio station has been the first home of countless broadcasters and media professionals throughout the industry, and this recognition by the Rock Radio Hall of Fame is a further testament to its excellence."

WSOU, which began broadcasting in 1948, is the student-run station of Seton Hall University. Celebrated for its loud rock format and coverage of Seton Hall athletics, WSOU's signal reaches all five boroughs of New York City and much of northern and central New Jersey, and is available on iHeartRadio. More information about the station can be found online at and

Categories: Arts and Culture

For more information, please contact:

  • Michael Ricciardelli
  • (973) 378-9845