Skip to Content
Seton Hall University

McQuaid Medal Recipients

Photo of Paul HolmesReverend Paul A. Holmes, S.T.D.

Distinguished University Professor of
Servant Leadership

Ordained a priest for the Archdiocese of Newark in 1981, Father Paul Holmes is Distinguished University Professor of Servant Leadership at Seton Hall University. A native of New Jersey, he graduated Seton Hall with a B.A. in sociology and, in five years of study at the North American College in Rome, Father Holmes earned an S.T.D. magna cum laude from the Gregorian University and an S.T.L. summa cum laude in moral theology from the Lateran University's Academia Alfonsiana.

While ministering at Newark's cathedral parish, he received an S.T.M. at Yale University. He also earned a doctorate magna cum laude from Rome’s University of St. Thomas Aquinas ('Angelicum'). In 1992, Father Holmes helped inaugurate Clergy Consultation & Treatment Service, an interdisciplinary outpatient treatment program for priests at St. Vincent’s Hospital in Harrison, New York, and recently returned (2010–2015) to serve once again as the program's Spiritual Director.

Father Holmes was invited to be the first Carl J. Peter Chair of Preaching at the North American College in Rome (1999–2000). Returning to Seton Hall, he was named Associate Provost for Academic Administration, continuing to teach courses in moral and sacramental theology. As the University's first Vice President for Mission and Ministry, he led the efforts to obtain a $2–million award from Lilly Endowment, establishing the Center for Vocation and Servant Leadership. He then served as Vice President and Interim Dean of Seton Hall’s School of Diplomacy and International Relations and, later, as the University’s Executive Vice President.

Teaching in the Department of Religion, Father Holmes has published articles in numerous journals and was invited to create This Sunday's Scripture, the first homily service of Twenty–Third Publications. He has also offered a number of "authentic preaching" practicums to priests, deacons and seminarians from around the English speaking world. In collaboration with the National Leadership Roundtable, he developed the Toolbox for Pastoral Management, teaching pastors the administrative skills needed to lead a vibrant Catholic parish in the 21st century. He also edited the award–winning two–volume A Pastor’s Toolbox: Management Skills for Parish Leadership (2014 and 2017) from Liturgical Press.

Photo of Katie MattaKathleen Matta, M.P.A.

Senior Associate Athletics Director
for Recreational Services

Kathy Matta, a veteran member of the Seton Hall athletics staff, currently serves as the Senior Associate Athletics Director for Recreational Services after receiving a promotion in September 2018. She previously was Associate Athletics Director for Recreational Services from 2004-18. Matta began as a student worker, then graduate assistant in the department before earning the title of Assistant Athletics Director for Recreational Services in 1990. In her current role, she oversees all of Seton Hall's recreation programs, including intramurals, the university's six club sports and instructional programming.

A 1987 Seton Hall graduate with a degree in Finance, Matta was a three-year member of the Pirates fencing team. In 1989, she completed her Master of Public Administration at Seton Hall.

Matta has two daughters, Shea and Madeline (currently a Seton Hall sophomore). 

Servant Leader Scholars

Olivia Blackwood, Nursing
Bethany Davidheiser, Biology
Jonathan Lester, Finance
Kathleen Mahon, Special Education
Katie Mazzarelli, Nursing
Audrey Pennington, Communications
Marisa Pla, Social and Behavioral Sciences
Jared Rubino, Finance
Rachael Servidio, College of Arts and Sciences
Meghan Vizzard, Special Education
Stephanie Wickman, Biology

Christopher Coppola, Secondary Education
Cristina Fernandez, Biology
Bianca Forcucci, Biology
Kellen Murphy, Physics
Liem Pham, Biology
Abigail Stackhouse, Biology
Brian Sumereau, Finance
Rachel Szeliga, College of Arts and Sciences
Kaitlyn Vega, Biology
Karmen Yap, Finance

Ashley R. Martins, Social and Behavioral Sciences
Ibukunoluwa Akintola, Physics
Amelia Baijnath, Biology
Joseph Murante, Economics
Tristan Ryan, Finance
Jillian Szcepanski, Social and Behavioral Sciences
Madison Feser, Diplomacy and International Relations
Cristina Hill, Finance
Karen Thompson, Biology

Michael Bizzoco, Finance
Laura Cavanagh, Social and Behavioral Sciences
Taylor Cutcliff, Mathematical Finance
Gabrielle Didonato, Biology
Luke Keck, Business
Matthew Minor, Diplomacy and International Relations
Emily Osborn, Biology
Taylor Ratcliffe, Special Education
Luisa Rinaudo, Special Education
Emily Silkowski, Diplomacy and International Relations
Kimberly Szilagyl, Nursing
Jaquelin Rivas-Tejada, Nursing
Emma Tobin, Diplomacy and International Relations

Kathleen Lynch, Speech and Language Pathology
Lauren M. McGuire, Speech and Language Pathology
Jacqueline Murdocca, Speech and Language Pathology
Smital Patel, Physician Assistant
Isabelle Salvador, Physician Assistant

"Since its founding, Seton Hall has made, and continues to make, moral education a priority of the first rank."

-- Seton Hall University Statement on Catholicity

Back to top