Skip to Content
College of Communication and the Arts Logo

About the Arts Council

The beauty that is the fruit of human artistic creativity is a clear expression of mankind's highest aspirations and a manifestation of the glory of God...

Pope John Paul II, Address to the Patrons of the Arts of the Vatican Museums April 18, 1997

The Seton Hall University Arts Council supports the integral role of the arts in higher education and their universally recognized status as a hallmark of an educated and humane culture.  The Council contributes to the cultural vitality of the campus and to the University's role in the greater community by fostering and promoting the visual, literary and performing arts, enhancing communication and collaboration among its members.

The Arts Council serves as the umbrella organization for the Arts Council Classical Concert Series, Jazz 'n the Hall, Joseph A. Unanue Latino Institute, Poetry-in-the-Round, Seton Hall Theatre, and the Walsh Gallery. The Council is committed to increasing the visibility of University arts and cultural events on and off campus.  In conjunction with the Center for Vocation and Servant Leadership, the Council oversees the awarding of grants through the "Exploring Faith and Vocation through the Arts" program.

In 2011-2012, the Arts Council continues its unique partnership with the South Orange Performing Arts Center (SOPAC).  Classical and jazz concerts and the Seton Hall Theatre productions are performed in SOPAC's intimate performance space.  Walsh Gallery exhibitions, Poetry-in-the-Round and the Multicultural Film and Lecture Series are offered on Seton Hall's beautiful 58-acre campus.

Arts Council Leadership

Deirdre Yates, Dean, College of Communication and the Arts 
Ruth Sharkey, Honorary Chair
Lorrain A. Hughes ('72, '81)

Program Directors

Jeanne Brasile, Walsh Gallery
Dena Levine, Classical Concert Series
Nathan Oates, Poetry-in-the-Round
Denisse Oller, Joseph A. Unanue
Peter Reader and Deirdre Yates, Seton Hall Theatre
Gloria Thurmond, Jazz 'n the Hall
 

Contact Information 

Walsh Gallery
Jeanne Brasile
Walsh Library
Phone: (973) 275-2033
E-mail: Jeanne.Brasile@shu.edu
 
Joseph Unanue Latino Institute
Denisse Oller
Fahy Hall 246
Phone: (973) 761-9422
E-mail: Denisse.Oller@shu.edu
 
Classical Concert Series
Dena Levine, D.M.A.
Corrigan Hall Music Center
Phone (973) 275-2450
E-mail: Dena.Levine@shu.edu
 

Seton Hall Theatre
Peter Reader, M.F.A
Deirdre Yates, M.F.A
Fahy Hall 48
Phone: (973) 761-9474
E-mail: Peter.Reader@shu.edu;
Deirdre.Yates@shu.edu
 
Poetry-in-the-Round
Nathan Oates, Ph.D.
Fahy Hall
Phone: (973) 761-9388
E-mail: Nathan.Oates@shu.edu

Jazz 'n the Hall
Gloria Thurmond, D.Min.
Corrigan Hall Music Center
Phone: (973) 275-2746
E-mail: Gloria.Thurmond@shu.edu
 
Back to top