Skip to Content
Seton Hall University

Bonnie A Evans, Arti Dhaon Kakkar, Joseph Kacirek and Mark Garcia Among Honorees at 31st Many Are One Alumni Awards Gala  

Bonnie A. Evans, M.H.A. Class of 2002, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) for the Kessler Institute for Rehabilitation, West Orange Campus, will be honored as Seton Hall's Most Distinguished Alumna at the 31st annual Many Are One Alumni Awards Gala on June 9, at the Hanover Marriott. Also among those being honored at the University's premier annual black-tie event are Arti Dhaon Kakar, M.A. '04/Ed.S. '05, receiving the Humanitarian Award for embodying the University's mission of servant leadership; Joseph Kacirek, M.A., Class of 1981, receiving the Alumni Impact Award for his service to Seton Hall; and Mark Garcia, Class of 2007, receiving the Young Alumni Impact Award.

Register for Many Are One »

The Master of Ceremonies will be Cristina Lang, Class of 1988, traffic anchor for iHeartRadio's Total Traffic and Weather Team. The vocalist with be Kaitlyn Delengowski, '08/M.P.A. '10, cantor in the Diocese of Camden, who regularly appears in theatrical productions throughout South Jersey and Philadelphia. The announcer will be John Fanta, Class of 2017, the voice of Seton Hall Athletics since 2013. This event demonstrates the accomplishments and servant leadership of the honorees to improving the lives of others. It also represents the extraordinary milestone in the University's history, surpassing the threshold of 100,000 living alumni. The donations raised from this event support the Alumni Scholarship Fund.

Bonnie A. Evans, M.H.A. '02 For her leadership and contributions to health care and medical rehabilitation, Bonnie A. Evans, is being presented with the 2017 Many Are One Most Distinguished Alumna Award, the most prestigious alumni award conferred by the University to recognize outstanding leaders in their professional field. Kessler Institute for Rehabilitation CEO, she began her career as a physical therapist and assumed greater clinical and administrative roles as programs and services expanded. Her skills have helped thousands of individuals with stroke, brain injury, spinal cord injury, limb loss, orthopedic trauma and other life-changing conditions to rebuild their lives - and her leadership has helped to position Kessler as one the nation's top-ranked rehabilitation hospitals.

Arti Dhaon Kakkar, M.A. '04/Ed.S. '05 As chief of health and human services at New Community Corporation, Arti Dhaon Kakkar has played a significant role in the growth of one of the nation's largest not-for-profit community development corporations. Her clinical work as a licensed marriage and family therapist has directly benefited people who receive substance abuse counseling, family and marriage therapy and crisis prevention services through the Family Service Bureau, an NCC affiliate. For her dedicated service to the Greater Newark New Jersey area, she is being presented with the 2017 Humanitarian of the Year Award.

Joseph Kacirek, M.A. '81 A member of the University's Admission Resource Program, the Bayley Society and the True Blue program, Joseph Kacirek has invested significant time, talent and treasure into building successful students, by serving as a mentor and volunteer. As an alumni member of the Dean Search Committee for the College of Arts and Sciences, he collaborated with faculty and staff to the appointment of Dean Shoemaker. His establishment of the Kacirek-Klement Memorial Endowed Scholarship in honor of his parents, aunt and uncle will benefit future students of the College of Arts and Sciences. He is also an avid Pirates fan and member of Pirate Blue. For his outstanding service to the University and the community, he is being presented with the 2017 Many Are One Alumni Impact Award.

Mark García '07As vice president and creative director for Majestyk, a digital creative studio, Mark García is at the forefront of product innovation in an ever-expanding digital space. Named one of Graphic Design USA magazine's 2017 People to Watch, his inventive and inspiring approach, passion for design and knowledge in skill in digital technology has resulted in more than 70 industry awards. He has engaged and encouraged design students, launching an internship program at Majestyk and serving as an adjunct professor at Seton Hall. He also is a dedicated ally of Advancement for Rural Kids, committed to keeping children who live in developing countries in school. For his success in graphic and digital design and for his service to young people, he is being presented with the 2017 Many Are One Young Alumni Impact Award.

In addition to these honorees, the deans of Seton Hall University's schools and colleges have chosen the following alumni to be honored for their service and dedication:

• Capt. Joanna Borawski, D.P.T.'10, United States Air Force physical therapist, School of Health and Medical Sciences
• Kathe M. Conlon '87, director of the Burn Community Programs for The Burn Center at Saint Barnabas and director of the Eastern Regional Burn Disaster Consortium, College of Nursing
• Lydiette Diaz, M.A. '11, special projects manager at LatinoJustice PRLDEF, School of Diplomacy and International Relations
• James Malgieri '82, retiring as a member of BNY Mellon's senior leadership team, overseeing the bank's collateral management and segregation businesses, Stillman School of Business
• Hon. Caridad F. Rigo '73/J.D.'77, lawyer and deputy attorney general and administrative law judge for the State of New Jersey, College of Arts and Sciences
• Glenn G. Schuck '85, 1010 WINS reporter and anchor inducted into the WSOU Hall of Fame, College of Communication and the Arts
• Bette Simmons, Ed.D. '97, vice president of student development and enrollment management at County College of Morris, College of Education and Human Services
• Remi L. Spencer, J.D.'02, founding partner of Spencer & Associates, School of Law
• Michael St. Pierre, M.A.T. '03/M.A.E. '09, executive director of the Catholic Campus Ministry Association, Immaculate Conception Seminary School of Theology

Visit for more information and to attend the event.

Categories: Alumni

For more information, please contact:

  • Laurie Pine
  • (973) 378-2638
Back to top