Skip to Content
Seton Hall University

Middle States Self-Study

Seton Hall University has been accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education since 1932 and must go through a full re-accreditation process every 10 years.  The initial part of the re-accreditation process is a lengthy and rigorous self study, in which the University assesses its strengths and weaknesses based upon fourteen standards outlined by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

After the completion of this self study, the University was visited, in 2014, by a team of examiners, selected by Middle States. Dr. Robinson, the University's then Provost, charged a Middle States Self Study Committee to oversee this important process.  The Committee was led by Dr. Susan Nolan and this website served as the community resource to keep the community informed about, and involved in, the Self Study and the work of the various working groups that completed it.

View the results of the 2014 Middle States Visit here »

2014 Steering Committee

Susan A. Nolan, Ph.D., Professor and Chair, Department of Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences (Chair)
Theresa E. Bartolotta, Ph.D., Director of Assessment for Academic Affairs, Office of the Provost (Administrative Lead), Associate Professor of Speech-Language Pathology
Gregory A. Burton, Ph.D., Associate Provost and Dean of Research and Graduate Services, Office of the Provost
Katherine C. Moen '14, Master of Science student in Experimental Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences
Leigh M. Onimus, J.D., Associate Dean, Stillman School of Business
Larry A. Robinson, Ed.D., Provost and Executive Vice President (ex officio)
Nicholas H.  Snow, Ph.D., Professor and Chair, Chemistry and Biochemistry, College of Arts and Sciences and Interim Director, Office of Grants and Research

2014 Working Groups Chairs

Strategic Direction One:  A Home for the Mind, the Heart and the Spirit
Middle States Standards 1, 4, 5, 6 (Mission and Goals; Leadership and Governance; Administration; Integrity)

Monsignor Richard M. Liddy, Ph.D., University Professor of Catholic Thought and Culture and Director of the Center for Catholic Studies
Mark Maben, B.A., General Manager, WSOU FM

Strategic Direction Two:  Distinction in Academics and Scholarship
Middle States Standards 10, 11, 12 (Faculty; Educational Offerings; General Education)

Marta Mestrovic Deyrup, Ph.D., Professor, University Libraries
Debra Zinicola, Ed.D., Associate Professor, Department of Educational Studies, College of Education and Human Services

Strategic Direction Three:  High Expectations for Student Success
Middle States Standards 7, 14 (Institutional Assessment, Assessment of Student Learning)

Ki Joo Choi, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Religion, College of Arts and Sciences
Wendy Sue Williams, M.A., Director of Language Resource Center, Office of the Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Strategic Direction Four:  Focus on Community
Middle States Standards 8, 9 (Student Admissions and Retention; Student Support Services)

Theresa L. Deehan, M.A.S., Director of Business Affairs

Strategic Direction Five:
Ambition in Outreach – Standard 13
(Related Educational Activities)

Courtney B. Smith, Ph.D., Associate Dean, School of Diplomacy

Strategic Direction Six:  Responsibility in Stewardship
Middle States Standards 2, 3 (Planning, Resource Allocation, and Institutional Renewal; Institutional Resources)

Andrew J. Brereton, Ph.D., Director of Special Projects, Division of Student Services

Communications Committee
Paul E. Fisher, M.P.A., Associate Chief Information Officer and Director of Teaching and Learning Technology Center

Back to top