Parking Services

Handicapped Parking Permit

 
Handicapped parking requires registration with the appropriate state agency. The handicapped individual must accompany the vehicle in order to qualify for handicapped parking. The availability of handicapped spaces is not guaranteed. Lack of handicapped spaces does not authorize the driver to park illegally.

To apply for a permanent or temporary handicapped placard or plates in New Jersey please click here.

For Community Members
Seton Hall community members who require handicapped parking must still purchase a parking permit . The state issued license plates or hangtag must also be displayed. The handicapped individual must accompany the vehicle in order to qualify for handicapped parking. Failure to display a valid Seton Hall parking permit will result in your vehicle being ticketed, towed or booted.

For Guests
Please display your Guest Permit along with your state issued license plates or hangtag. The handicapped individual must accompany the vehicle in order to qualify for handicapped parking. The availability of handicapped spaces is not guaranteed. Lack of handicapped spaces does not authorize the driver to park illegally.

Identification Card
When using either the license plates or placard to park, you must have your identification card with you. You must be able to present this card to any Public Safety and Security or Parking Services personnel if requested.

A "Disabled Person Identification Card" is issued with either the license plates or placard and is valid as long as the license plates and/or placard continue to be renewed. When using either the license plates or placard to park in designated handicapped symbol parking spaces, you must have your identification card with you. It is non-transferable and will be forfeited if presented by any other person. The qualifying individual must be a New Jersey resident. Any abuse of this privilege is cause for revocation of the identification card, placard and/or license plates. View the NJ HDC Placard Instructions »

Abuse and Penalties
It is important for you to know that under New Jersey law (N.J.S.A. 2C:21-4a), making a false statement or providing misinformation on an application to obtain or facilitate the receipt of license plates or placards for persons with disabilities is a fourth degree crime and a person who has been convicted of an offense may be subject to pay a fine, such fine not to exceed $10,000 and a term of imprisonment of up to 18 months. View the State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission statement on "Abuse and penalties" »
Contact Us

Parking Services
(973) 761-9329
(973) 275-2445
Fax (973) 275-2084
ParkingServices@shu.edu
Duffy Hall Rm. 63

Sign In to PirateNet