Skip to Content
College of Nursing News and Events Logo

Fall 2016 Haley Awards Recognize Excellence In Nursing  

Haley AwardsMembers of the College of Nursing and Alumni Relations gathered once again to honor four distinctive individuals who have exemplified the qualities of vision, leadership, innovation and tireless commitment to caring, as personified by the woman for whom the award was named. The annual Margaret C. Haley Awards were hosted on Monday, September 26, 2016 at the Highlawn Pavilion in West Orange in recognition of alumni who have made significant contributions to the nursing profession. Attendees came from different parts of the northeast to mingle, share stories among a fine array of food and wine, and celebrate the achievements of colleagues who are true leaders in healthcare today.

“I never gave or took any excuses,” stated Dean Marie Foley as she quoted from Florence Nightingale. So set the tone for an evening where individual efforts transpired to affect a multitude of healthcare issues locally and nationally, although not without challenges that may have overwhelmed others less devoted to a cause for the greater good of humanity. “They [the award recipients] live the mission of the College in their daily lives—throughout the country and throughout the world,” stated Dean Foley in reference to Seton Hall University’s mission of servant leadership.

While three of the awardees were recognized for bodies of work spanning their entire careers, Hayang Lee, the youngest and most recent graduate, perhaps best symbolizes how student potential early on can lead to even greater future endeavors. In reference to Lee’s extensive work with sex trafficking victims, her current pursuit of a Ph.D. at Johns Hopkins University, along with dual clinical experiences in two hospitals, Dean Foley remarked, “It is amazing what Hayang has accomplished in just two years since graduation.” Doubtless, the College of Nursing and Alumni Relations are confident that their youngest alumna will go on to further contribute to the path adeptly carved out by her fellow honorees in the many years ahead.

The 2016 Margaret C. Haley Award was bestowed upon Mary Ellen Clyne, B.S.N. ’87, M.S.N. ’93, Ph.D. ’12. Dr. Clyne is the President and CEO of Clara Maass Medical Center (CMMC) in Belleville, NJ, and is the only woman at the helm of an Acute Care, Community-Based Hospital in Essex County. She was named an NJBIZ 2016 50 Women In Business Award winner. Under her leadership, CMMC saw its first major renovation in more than a decade. The $23 million dollar project included a brand new building featuring a state-of-the-art, 32-bed Intensive Care Unit, two levels of Class-A spaces for physicians and a new main lobby. CMMC has earned three consecutive Patient Safety Excellence Awards from Healthgrades during her tenure, placing the Medical Center in the top 10 nationwide for patient safety. The hospital was also ranked the second highest in New Jersey for hospital safety by Consumer Reports and top in the state for the treatment of Congestive Heart Failure and Heart Attacks by the NJ Department of Health and Senior Services. In August 2016, Dr. Clyne’s success was highlighted in a Becker’s Hospital Review article titled “33 nurses who transitioned to hospital CEOs.” A former Nursing Supervisor, she has held Director-level positions at The General Hospital Center at Passaic, The Hospital Center at Orange and Overlook Hospital in Summit. Dr. Clyne is proud to be the first person to earn her bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral Degrees in nursing at Seton Hall University, where she has also served as Adjunct Professor. In 2012, she was inducted into the Seton Hall University College of Nursing Hall of Honor.

Barbara Kiernan, B.S.N. ’65 is the recipient of the Nelson Aquino Humanitarian Award. Dr. Kiernan has devoted much of her career to healthcare issues surrounding HIV and AIDS, with particular focus on Pediatric AIDS. Fellowships/Grants include “Caregiver Compliance with Zidovudine Protocols for HIV-exposed Infants”-Glaxo Pharmaceuticals Research Grant, which she co-authored with Cynthia Hughes, Ed.D and Gloria Caliendro, Ed.D from Seton Hall University. She has presented on the subject at numerous international, national, regional and state meetings and has been a member with the Association for Nurses in AIDS Care and the National Catholic Aids Network. Dr. Kiernan served as President of the Seton Hall University College of Nursing Alumni Association from 1979 until 1983. A former Associate Professor and Chair of Biobehavioral Nursing for the College of Nursing, Georgia Regents University in Augusta, Georgia from 2008 until her retirement in 2012, she currently volunteers as a School Nurse at Immaculate Conception School in Augusta.

The George J. Herbert Leadership Award was given to Muriel Shore, B.S.N. ’61, Ed.D ’90. Dr. Shore has been the Dean of the School of Nursing at Felician University since 2001, where she was instrumental in developing the University’s first Doctorate of Nursing Practice degree. She also serves as the Director of the Felician University Institute for Gerontology. Dr. Shore is the past President and Treasurer of the New Jersey State Nurses Association, has won two national elections for the American Nurses Association Board of Directors, and was elected more than 10 times as a New Jersey State Nurses Association Delegate to the American Nurses Association House of Delegates. Her political life has extended to three appointments by New Jersey Governors (Kean, Whitman and Corzine) to various boards and commissions including the New Jersey Health Care Access Study Commission. Dr. Shore was the first nurse to serve as the Mayor of Fairfield, holding the position for nine years. Of her many other accomplishments, she has organized Fairfield’s first Home Alone Thanksgiving Dinner for people who would otherwise be alone for the holidays; and as Freeholder in Essex County, fought to make medical necessity a requirement in the NJ Department of Transportation’s distribution of funds for services to seniors.

Hayang Lee, B.S.N. ’14 received the Elizabeth Ann Seton Young Alumni Award. She is currently a Ph.D. Candidate at Johns Hopkins University and a Registered Nurse with the Johns Hopkins Intrastaff. Lee has done extensive research and work on issues surrounding victims of sex trafficking which included volunteering with Restore NYC, a growing NGO in 2015. While in her residency in Cardiac Telemetry at Overlook Medical Center, she cross-trained in the maternity unit enabling her to transition as a High Risk Antepartum RN at Hackensack University Medical Center in 2016.

The Seton Hall Fund for the College of Nursing
Giving to the Seton Hall Fund is one of the most important ways alumni and friends can show their support for The College of Nursing in preparing future leaders like this evening’s honorees. Your kind donation is most appreciated and can be made here»

Categories: Health and Medicine

For more information, please contact:

  • Michael Giorgio
  • (973) 275-4953
Back to top