Skip to Content
Seton Hall University

Honoring 23 Distinguished University Faculty  

Faculty Researcher of the Year

Faculty Researchers of the Year at the Awards Ceremony

The University recently honored its 2017 cohort of Faculty Researchers of the Year, recognizing 12 faculty members for their accomplishments in the pursuit of new knowledge. Areas of research included such diverse topics as reality TV, nursing in critical care, and the perception of motion. This year's overall University Researcher of the Year Award resulted in a tie between Fortunato Battaglia and Zheng Wang. Wang of the School of Diplomacy and International Relations is an expert on Chinese foreign policy and is the author of two books on the subject in 2017 alone. Battaglia of the School of Health and Medical Sciences is highly published in diverse areas of neurology and neuroscience, including brain activity patterns of witnessing action and motion in art.

The other side of research is teaching, and the University also awarded Faculty Teacher of the Year honors and recognized Faculty Adjunct Teachers of the Year. The overall University Teacher of the Year selected is Jason Tramm of the School of Communication and the Arts, who also serves as conductor of the University Choir. Student letters enthused about Tramm, referring, among other accolades, to his "exceptional talent, deep insight, and inspiring convictions."

Sponsored by Seton Hall's Strategic Plan From Strength to Strength and the Division of Academic Affairs, this program required peer nominations and student letters of endorsement. Associate Provost Gregory Burton said, "Once again, the outpouring of student support throughout this nomination process was inspiring. The committee had a difficult task in narrowing a remarkable field of strong nominations."

Among the benefits of both awards are a development fund, which faculty can draw from to attend conferences on teaching or research to obtain equipment or publications relevant to their specialties, and other support purposes.

This year's other Researcher of the Year honorees include:

Jonathan Farina, English, College of Arts and Sciences,  is an expert on 19th-century literature and in the past year published original work in high-impact journals 19th Century Prose, Victorians, and Dickens Studies Annual, as well as a number of book reviews, all while teaching in Honors and on the undergraduate and graduate level in English.

Martin Finkelstein, Educational Leadership, Management and Policy, College of Education and Human Services, recently published The Faculty Factor, an examination of the role of full-time compared with adjunct and contingent faculty.  This influential book was listed in the "Notable Book" section of The Chronicle of Higher Education and is simply the latest of a shelf's worth of influential texts by this scholar.

Jennifer Itzkowitz, Finance, Stillman School of Business, conducts research on an impressive breadth of finance topics, publishing articles in top journals last year on the syndicated bank loan market and the small stock effect.

Amadu "Jacky" Kaba, Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work, College of Arts and Sciences, studies African politics and demographic challenges, co-authoring a 2016 book with the late Ali Mazrui on the African intelligentsia.

James Kimble, College of Communication and the Arts, was recently in the news for his research on the original model for Rosie the Riveter, an aspect of his longstanding research on propaganda. He has also recently completed a Fulbright fellowship in Croatia.

Jonathan Kraszewski, College of Communication and the Arts, was recognized for his just-published monograph Reality TV as well as the continuing influence of his earlier book, The New Entrepreneurs and other works.

Andrea McDowell, School of Law, is the third Guggenheim winner on Seton Hall's faculty and the second from the Law School in just this decade. Her research that caught the attention of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation was on self-government during the California Gold Rush.

Jeffrey Morrow, Immaculate Conception Seminary School of Theology, recently published the book Three Skeptics and the Bible, which follows up several recent articles in both scholarly journals and high-circulation magazines.

Monika Raj, Chemistry and Biochemistry, College of Arts and Sciences, researches many aspects of peptides, and her work was published in the past year in high-profile journals such as Chemical Communications; she was also awarded a patent.

Kristi Stinson, Undergraduate Nursing, College of Nursing, researches influences on decision making in critical care settings, with recent publications in American Journal of Critical Care and Nursing Science Quarterly.

The other Teachers of the Year honorees include:

Faculty Teacher of the year

Faculty Teachers of the Year at the Awards Ceremony

Marianne Barra Schneider, College of Nursing, specializes in the crucial clinical courses within Nursing, where student letters praised her as "beyond amazing" and "the best hands down."

Ann Marie Murphy, School of Diplomacy and International Relations, specialist in teaching Comparative Foreign Policy both on the undergraduate and graduate level.

Tim Fortin, Immaculate Conception Seminary School of Theology, who teaches not only seminarians and lay students but also serves as Prison minister at two Essex County locations.

Kelly Goedert, College of Arts and Sciences, was recognized for excellence in teaching Cognitive Psychology and related classes on both the undergraduate and graduate levels and serving in the new Data Visualization interdisciplinary program.

Artem Kalyanov, honored as University Adjunct Faculty Teacher of the Year, was recognized for his teaching in the Russian program, on all levels of proficiency.  Other adjunct colleagues nominated included Claudia Ocello of College of Communication and the Arts, Kobi Abayomi of College of Arts and Sciences, and Paul Steffens of Stillman School of Business.

Michael Mascio, College of Arts and Sciences, was recognized for his great breadth and diversity in teaching in disciplines as wide ranging as literature, etymology, history, philosophy, mythology, religion, and film.

Elizabeth McCrea, Stillman School of Business, was recognized for her teaching of Principles of Management as well as for her research on teaching.

Carolyn Sattin-Bajaj , College of Education and Human Services, was recognized not only for dedicated teaching and mentorship but for research leadership directly related to education, particularly her service as director of the Center for College Access and Success.

Brian Sheppard, School of Law, was recognized for his excellence in teaching Torts I and II and other courses but also his role in new student orientation and participation in University-wide Mission initiatives such as the Lonergan Center and the "Heart of the University" retreat series.

Angela Weisl, College of Arts and Sciences, specializes in teaching Medieval Literature and British Literature on both undergraduate and graduate levels.

For images of the event, click here »

Categories: Campus Life

Flickr Gallery Display ErrorExpression

For more information, please contact:

  • Laurie Pine
  • (973) 378-2638
Back to top