News & Events

Faculty Added to the Fulbright Ranks
Seton Hall > News & Events 

Dr. Martin Edwards, Associate Professor.
Edwards_ Martin

Dr. Fredline M'Cormack-Hale, Assistant Professor.
Federline M'Cormack - Hale

The School of Diplomacy is pleased to announce that Dr. Martin Edwards, Associate Professor, and Dr. Fredline M'Cormack-Hale, Assistant Professor, have been awarded Fulbright Scholar grants for 2013-2014 by the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Edwards will travel to Canada to serve as Fulbright Visiting Research Chair in Global Governance for Balsillie School of International Affairs, a consortium comprised of the University of Waterloo, Wilfrid Laurier and the Centre for International Governance Innovation.

M'Cormack-Hale's grant will take her to Sierra Leone, West Africa, where she will lecture at Fourah Bay College as well as conduct research. M’Cormack-Hale will teach courses in International Relations and Gender and Politics. She will also conduct research on the Free Health Care Initiative, implemented in 2010 that provides free health care for pregnant and lactating women and children under five in Sierra Leone.

Edwards and M'Cormack-Hale are two of approximately 1,100 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad through the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program in 2013-2014.

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The primary source of funding for the Fulbright Program is an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Participating governments and host institutions, corporations and foundations in foreign countries and in the United States also provide direct and indirect support. Recipients of Fulbright grants are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement, as well as demonstrated leadership potential in their fields. The Program operates in over 155 countries worldwide.

Since its establishment in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the Fulbright Program has given approximately 310,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists, and scientists the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

Fulbright alumni have achieved distinction in government, science, the arts, business, philanthropy, education, and athletics. Forty-four Fulbright alumni from 12 countries have been awarded the Nobel Prize, and 81 alumni have received Pulitzer Prizes. Prominent Fulbright alumni include: Muhammad Yunus, Founder, Grameen Bank, and 2006 Nobel Peace Prize recipient; Juan Manuel Santos, President of Colombia; Lee Evans, Olympic Gold Medalist; Rita Dove, former U.S. Poet Laureate and 1987 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry recipient; Riccardo Giacconi, Physicist and 2002 Nobel Laureate; Amar Gopal Bose, Chairman and Founder, Bose Corporation; Renee Fleming, soprano; Jonathan Franzen, Writer; and Daniel Libeskind, Architect.

To learn more about the School's latest faculty Fulbright Scholars, visit their faculty profiles »

For more information please contact:
Whitehead School
(973) 275-2515


Sign In to PirateNet