News & Events

Gita DasBender, Ph.D., Receives Fulbright Specialists Award to Vietnam
Seton Hall > News & Events 

Gita DasBender, Ph.D., senior faculty associate and second language writing coordinator in the English department, has been selected for a Fulbright Specialists project in Vietnam at Ha Nam Teacher Training College, Phu Ly City, and Banking Academy of Vietnam, Hanoi, during March-April 2013, according to the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

DasBender will spend four weeks at Ha Nam Teacher Training College and two weeks at the Banking Academy of Vietnam conducting lectures and workshops on English language skills development, second language writing pedagogy, effective teaching methods, program and curriculum review, and professional development. She will also work with the Directorate of BAV and the Dean on strategies to create Faculty of Language organizations, and on human resource development and incentive policies.

Dr. DasBender is one of over 400 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad this year through the Fulbright Specialists Program. The Fulbright Specialists Program, created in 2000 to complement the traditional Fulbright Scholar Program, provides short-term academic opportunities (two to six weeks) to prominent U.S. faculty and professionals to support curricular and faculty development and institutional planning at post secondary, academic institutions around the world.

The Fulbright Program, America’s flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Over its 60 years of existence, thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have taught, studied or conducted research abroad, and thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar activities in the United States. Over 285,000 emerging leaders in their professional fields have received Fulbright awards, including individuals who later became heads of government, Nobel Prize winners, and leaders in education, business, journalism, the arts and other fields.

Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement. Among thousands of prominent Fulbright Scholar alumni are Milton Friedman, Nobel Prize-winning economist; Alan Leshner, CEO of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS); Rita Dove, Pulitzer Prize-winning poet; and Craig Barrett, Chairman of the Board of Intel Corporation. Distinguished Fulbright Specialist participants include Mahmoud Ayoub, Professor of Religion at Temple University, Heidi Hartmann, President and CEO, Institute for Women's Policy Research, Percy R. Luney, Jr. Dean and Professor, College of Law, Florida A&M University and Emily Vargas-Barone, Founder and Executive Director of the RISE Institute.

For more information please contact:
Michael Dooney
(973) 275-2155


Sign In to PirateNet