News & Events

Alberto Italian Studies Events for 2012-13
Seton Hall > News & Events 

The Charles and Joan Alberto Italian Studies Institute is pleased to announce its calendar of events for the academic year of 2012-2013.

The Institute was founded in 2003 with the mission of promoting on-campus cultural and academic activities related to Italian Studies. This year, the program comprises films, lectures, book-presentations as well as concerts. We invite students, faculty members and administrators to join us.

Monday, September 24:
Scholarship Award Ceremony
Lecture: L'Aquila and Beyond: Lessons from an Earthquake
Prof. Laura Benedetti, Georgetown University

Tuesday, October 2:
Lecture: Reflections across the Adriatic
Prof. James Pettifer, Oxford University

Wednesday, October 24:
Lecture: Historical & Sociological Aspects of the Italian American Experience Prof. Richard Juliani, Villanova University

Tuesday, October 30:
Film: The Garden of the Finzi-Continis
Introduced by Jerome and Marylou Bongiorno.
In collaboration with the Jewish Museum of NJ

Tuesday November 13:
Book presentation: The Godfather Effect: Changing Hollywood, America and Me Tom Santopietro, Author

Monday, December 3:
Holiday Concert

Monday, January 28:
Holocaust Remembrance Day
Lecture: Primo Levi
Prof. Stan Pugliese, Hofstra University

Tuesday, February 19:
Book presentation: Seeking Sicily
John Keahey, Author

Tuesday, February 26:
Lecture: Murder Made in Italy
Prof. Ellen Nerenberg, Wesleyan University

Tuesday, March 26:
Lecture: Words are Loaded Guns. Reflections on the Power of Words between Law and Literature
Gianrico Carofiglio, Author and Judge

Tuesday, April 23:
Film: Painting Rules: Documentary about artist Jerry Carniglia
Marylou and Jerome Bongiorno, Filmmakers

All events start at 6 p.m., venues vary, please contact Barbara Ritchie at 973-275-2967 or barbara.ritchie@shu.edu for further information.

For more information please contact:
Barbara Ritchie
(973) 275-2967
barbara.ritchie@shu.edu

 

Sign In to PirateNet