Skip to Content
School of Health and Medical Sciences Logo

Office of the Dean  

Dean Brian ShulmanGreetings! Thank you for taking the time to explore the School of Health and Medical Sciences (SHMS) at Seton Hall University, where we teach the art and science of caring in an interprofessional, health-focused context.

Nearly 30 years ago, top administrators from 13 New Jersey Catholic hospitals and medical centers met at Seton Hall University to address medical education within the state. As a result, our School was chartered, combining the University's commitment to enriching the mind, heart and spirit of its students with the mission of educating the healthcare leaders of tomorrow. By September 1989, the first class of 150 medical residents and fellows enrolled in the School's first fully accredited Internal Medicine Residency Program. Today, we not only educate medical residents and fellows at four area hospitals, but also we educate healthcare professionals in our fully accredited graduate health science programs. Read more »

Administration and Staff

Brian B. Shulman, Ph.D., CCC-SLP, ASHA Fellow, BCS-CL, FASAHP
Dean, School of Health and Medical Sciences
brian.shulman@shu.edu
(973) 275-2168
View profile »

Mona Sedrak, Ph.D., PA
Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Division of Health Sciences
mona.sedrak@shu.edu
(973) 275-2214
View profile »

John W. Sensakovic, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Division of Medical Residencies and Fellowships
john.sensakovic@shu.edu
(973) 275-2031

Paul Cognata, MA, MSW, LSW
Assistant Dean for Dual Degree Programs, Division of Health Sciences
paul.cognata@shu.edu
(973) 275-4818

Christopher W. O'Brien, Ph.D., LAT, ATC
Assistant Dean for Special Academic Programs and Projects, Division of Health Sciences
christopher.obrien@shu.edu
(973) 275-2220
View profile »

Patrick McDermott, M.A.
Director of Graduate Admissions
patrick.mcdermott@shu.edu
(973) 275-2062

Lori Riley, M.A.
Director of Public Relations, Marketing and Special Events
lori.riley@shu.edu
(973) 313-6077

Gloria Williams
Executive Assistant to the Dean
gloria.williams@shu.edu

(973) 275-2031

Jaquonda Hutchins

Assistant to the Sr. Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
jaquonda.hutchins@shu.edu

(973) 275-2261

Kathleen O'Neill

Secretary, Clinical Education
kathleen.o'neill@shu.edu
(973) 275-2501

Lauren Smith, B.A. 
Secretary, Clinical Education
lauren.smith1@shu.edu
(973) 275-2057

Gerald Ruscingno, PhD

Assistant Director of Advising for Dual Degree Programs
gerald.ruscingno@shu.edu
(973) 275-6457

Department Contacts

Sonia Burger
Secretary, Department of Athletic Training
sonia.burger@shu.edu
(973) 275-2826

Joann Codella
Secretary, Department of Physician Assistant
joann.codella@shu.edu
(973) 275-2596

Joann DeBerto
Secretary, Department of Interprofessional Health Sciences and Health Administration*
joann.deberto@shu.edu
(973) 275-2076

Nancy Gonzalez
Secretary, Department of Speech-Language Pathology
nancy.gonzalez1@shu.edu
(973) 275-2825

Back to top