## 2019 SHU Japanese Language Study Awards

# Wednesday, April 3, 2019 12:15 p.m. -12:45 p.m. Beck Room, University Library

#### **Awards Presenters**

Peter W. Shoemaker, Dean, A& S, Seton Hall University Michael Stone, Director of LLC Global Learning Center, Seton Hall University Anne Giblin-Gedacht, Acting Director of the Japanese Program, Seton Hall University Hiroko Ishikawa & Shigeru Osuka, Faculty of Japanese Program, Seton Hall University

Seton Hall University has been offering Japanese Language since the 1950s. In recognition of the students' hard work, dedication and further promises to the role in a global community, the Japanese program honors the following 2019 Japanese language awardees:

Name	Year	Major
First Year Japanese		
Kaitlyn Chou	Freshman	Business
Krysta K. Taduran	Freshman	Nursing
Kylie E. Aoki	Sophomore	Political Science/Philosophy
Karly Gush	Sophomore	Business
Maha Khan	Sophomore	Biology
Sean P McGill	Sophomore	Biology
Second Year Japanese		
Alexis Candelora	Sophomore	Business
Catherine Jocelyn	Junior	Graphic Design
Shamil Dzhatdoyev	Senior	Computer Science
Corey Nguyen	Senior	Catholic Theology
Third Year Japanese		
Mikalia Morris	Junior	Diplomacy and International Relations
Michael A. Pereira	Junior	Accounting
Yuanhang Yang	Junior	Asian Study

#### **NJATJ Awards**

New Jersey Association of Teacher of Japanese (NJATJ) awarded the following six SHU students for the NJATJ 2019 Japanese Language and Cultural Study Award. The ceremony was held at Seton Hall University campus on March 8, 2019. There were approx. fifty students who received the awards and more than two hundred friends and families attended the award ceremony.

### Japanese National Honor Society College Chapter

The Japanese National Honor Society – College Chapter (JNHS–CC) recognizes and encourages scholastic achievement and excellence in the study of the Japanese language. Students who have nominated for membership receive a Certificate of Excellence and red-and-white cords to wear at graduation. The following four SHU students are inductees in JNHS-CC 2019:

Megan A Ogilvie	Junior	Asian Studies
Nadia Meshkati	Senior	Psychology
Donald B. O'connor	Senior	Business
Joshua H. Tan	Senior	Political Science