School of Health and Medical Sciences
SHMS Clinicals
Alumnus Randy Marti, MS ’03,
is passionate about working
with SHMS Occupational
Therapy students.

The School of Health and Medical Sciences (SHMS) prepares graduate students to become leaders in the healthcare field. The SHMS faculty are actively seeking to create partnerships with facilities and clinicians who can provide quality, hands-on clinical experiences for our students through a structured educational program.

If you are a practicing healthcare professional who is…

  • ready to share your knowledge and expertise with students
  • motivated to advance your career by developing supervisor skills
  • inspired to give back to your profession and make a difference for future practitioners


… consider providing a clinical education experience for a School of Health and Medical Sciences graduate student.

Please complete the interest form and a SHMS faculty member will contact you to discuss the opportunity. Complete the form »

We also welcome you to contact our Directors of Clinical Education directly:

Athletic Training
Dawn Maffucci, MA, ATC
Dawn.Maffucci@shu.edu
(973) 275-2086
Occupational Therapy
Karen Hoover, OTD, OTR
Karen.Hoover@shu.edu
(973) 275-2921
Mara Podvey, PhD, OTR
Mara.Podvey@shu.edu
(973) 275-2843
Physical Therapy
Irene DeMasi, PT, DPT
Irene.DeMasi@shu.edu
(973) 275-2260
Kim Poulsen, PT, DPT
Kim.Poulsen@shu.edu
(973) 275-2963
Physician Assistant
Lauren Twombly, MPA, PA-C
Lauren.Twombly@shu.edu
(973) 275-6457
Abby Saunders, MS, PA-C
Abby.Saunders@shu.edu
(973) 275-2115
Speech-Language Pathology
Natalie Neubauer, MS, CCC-SLP
Natalie.Neubauer@shu.edu
(973) 275-2859
Deborah Welling, AuD, CCC-A/FAAA
Deborah.Welling@shu.edu
(973) 275-2947

Thank you for your interest in partnering with the School of Health and Medical Sciences to educate the healthcare leaders of tomorrow!

A Great Opportunity

"Students gain so much from these clinical experiences and go on to change the world of healthcare. The practitioners who take on this important role as supervisors also benefit, becoming better teachers, mentors and managers. It is a great opportunity for anyone looking to boost their skills and make a difference in the field."

Abby Saunders, MS, PA-C
Director of Clinical Education
Department of Physician Assistant at SHMS

Sign In to PirateNet